Question tags

Allhamdulillah the time was coming… 😛

i was waiting the time to write articles or passages in english. And this day i can

enjoy it 🙂

QUESTION TAG

A Tag Question is a question added at the end of sentence. Speakers use tag question chiefly to make sure their information is correct or to seek agreement.

Pattern :

  • Type I

Affirmative sentence + Negative tag => Affirmative answer

Example :

–         she is your teacher, isn’t she? => yes, she is

–         Fatimah comes late, doesn’t she? => yes, she does

  • Type II

Negative sentence+affirmatife tag=> Negative answer

Example :

–         Paijo can’t swim, can he? => No, he can’t

–         We are not happy, are we? => No, we aren’t

  • Type III

The words that used in Question tag are I, You, She, He, We, It, They, There.

Note :    “It” usually used for       => Everything, this, that, his, your, …etc.

They” usually used for => Everyone, somebody, someone, no one,

Nobody,…etc.

Example :

–         Nobody called on the phone, did they?

–         This movie isn’t good, is it?

  • Type IV

Simple present and past tense in verbal sentence use Do, Does and Did.

–   Present

(-) Statement, do/does +S? =>S+do/does+not

(+ ) Statement, do/does+not+S? => S+do/does

–    Past

(-) Statement, did+S? => S+did+not

(+ ) Statement, did+not+S? => S+did

Example : They want to watch TV tonight, don’t they?

She visited my sisiter yesterday, didn’t she?

  • Type V

If the sentences use auxiliary and modal, so the Question tag also use auxiliary and modal that closer with subject.

Example : He has been to Bali, hasn’t he?

She won’t have gone to Jakarta, will she?

(+) Statement, aux+not+S? => Yes, S+aux

(- ) Statement, aux+S? => No, S+aux+not

  • Type VI

If we find statement : Iam ……., aren’t I? (not am not I)

Example: Iam student, aren’t I?

Iam not a doctor, am I?

  • Type VII

Positive statement that have negative meaning, Question tag always positive.

–         Never         –   Seldom          –   By no mean       –   Barely

–         Few            –   No/none        –   Hardly ever        –   Scarcely

Example :  Tuminem never goes to the movie, does he?

You seldom get up early, do you?

  • Type VIII

–    Imperative sentence (negative or positive)

Example :

Give me a hand, will you?

Don’t forget, will you?

–    Ajakan sentence

Example : Let’s sing together, shall we?

Let’s go for a walk, shall we?

  • Type IX

In compound sentence Question tag based on main sentence.

Example :

She made a statement that it was a mistake, didn’t she?

I believe he will come soon, won’t he?

  • Type X

S+had better+ Verb I

Example : You’d better go home now, hadn’t you?

S+ Would rather+ Verb I

Example : You’d rather stay here, wouldn’t you?

S+ Had + Past participle

Example : she’d gone to Jakarta before you arrived here, hadn’t she?

S+ should+ Verb I

Example : He should study hard, shouldn’t he?

She could my belt, didn’t she?

Not : doesn’t she, because it is Past Tense.

She had John wash the car, didin’t she?

Because it is Causative sentence.

Exercise :

  1. Maryam is a beautiful dancer, ……?
  2. We aren’t busy body, ……?
  3. Your book is new, ……?
  4. Those fruits are from me, ……?
  5. This cake is sweet enough, ……?
  6. Everything is ready, ……?
  7. Everyone wasn’t enjoy, ……?
  8. Nobody called on the phone, ……?
  9. They play football every Sunday, ……?
  10. Your sister always gets up early, ……?
  11. The unions accepted the offer, ……?
  12. They will be a doctor next year, ……?
  13. we shall help him, ……?
  14. Mrs.Smith oughtn’t to do work now, ……?
  15. I’m not a dancer, ……?
  16. I’m diligent student, ……?
  17. They hardly ever go to town, ……?
  18. He hasn’t any money, ……?
  19. Take my bag please, ……?
  20. Don’t miss it, ……?
  21. Be careful, ……?
  22. Let’s dance together, ……?
  23. Let me see, ……?
  24. I suppose he should have known that, ……?
  25. You’d better stay at home, ……?
  26. You’d rather wait him, ……?
  27. He’d worked overtime, ……?
  28. He’d work overtime, ……?
  29. They should get up early, ……?
  30. My father cut the branch, ……?
  31. My father cuts the branch, ……?
  32. My sister had me clean the floor, ……?
  33. Tukijah hasn’t breakfast, ……?
  34. Juki and Siti have gone to the movie, ……?
  35. She’s doing her best, ……?
  36. She’s done her best, ……?

* Dialogue Test

Ulin : Hi Sam, where do you go?

Samsul : Hi Ul, I wanna go to caffetaria

Ulin : You wanna go to caffetaria, ……?

Samsul : Yes, ……   Let’s go there, ……?

Ulin : Mmmm, I feel so thursty but I’m forget to bringing my wallet

Samsul : You can be forget, ……?

Ulin : Yeeaahh,,,,,

Samsul : Nevermind, I wil pay your food there. Let’s go,,,,

Ulin : Okay, thanks…

^^ makes english’s funny^^

2 thoughts on “Question tags

  1. walach…………..kalo itu mach qw dah puinter…huahahaha….
    secara kemaren qw kan presentasi materi tuw,,,,weekkzzz…….

Leave a Reply

